Quantcast HuskerMax


1972: On New Year's night, the top-ranked Huskers claimed their second consecutive national championship by whipping No. 2 Alabama in the Orange Bowl, 38-6.

This week in
Husker history

The week of Jan. 1-7, looking back in five-year intervals
1917: Coach Doc Stewart arranges an ambitious schedule for the 1917 season.
«1937: Sam Francis wins the Douglas Fair­banks trophy, awarded to the college football's most out­standing player and determined by a vote of players nationwide. Meanwhile, Texas tries to woo coach Dana X. Bible from Lincoln.
1957: Coach Pete Elliott receives a 20 percent pay increase as he attracts interest from West Coast schools.
1962: Nebraska officially makes its move to hire Bob Devaney as head football coach, but Wyoming decides not to make it easy.
1967: Alabama swamps the Huskers in the Sugar Bowl, 34-7.
1977: Defensive coordinator Monte Kiffin resigns to join Lou Holtz’s staff at Arkansas, and Lance Van Zandt is hired to take his place.
1982: With a possible national championship on the line, fumbles and a stout Clemson defense stymie the Huskers in a 22-15 defeat in the Orange Bowl.
1987: The Blackshirts come up big in a 30-15 win over LSU in the Sugar Bowl.
1992: Miami dominates Nebraska, 22-0, in the Orange Bowl, claiming a share of the national championship and dealing the Huskers their first shutout in 18 years. Fullback Omar Soto was declared ineligible before the game, a situation that temporarily placed four of the Huskers’ 1991 wins in jeopardy.
2002: The BCS championship game is no contest as the Huskers fall, 37-14, to Miami in the Rose Bowl. Also, All-America guard Toniu Foniti opts to leave school early and enter the NFL draft.
2007: Nebraska falls to Auburn in the Cotton Bowl, 17-14, despite giving up just 178 yards of total offense.
2012: South Carolina takes the lead on a Hail Mary at the end of the first half and then rolls to a 30-13 win over the Huskers in the Capital One Bowl.
2017: Former Nebraska head coach Bo Pelini takes Youngstown State to the FCS championship game, where the Penguins fall to James Madison, 28-14.