Quantcast HuskerMax


This week in
Husker history

The week of Jan. 24-30, looking back in five-year intervals
1911: Nebraska adds a high-profile game with Michigan to its home schedule.
«1916: The exit of Jumbo Stiehm turns stormy as the former coach orders university officials to leave his home in a confrontation over possession of documents from Stiehm's five-year tenure. Also, Nebraska schedules its first Pacific Coast game, against Oregon State (Husker coach Doc Stewart's former team) in Portland.
1921: It is decided that Henry Schulte will be replaced as head football coach, and the search is on for his successor.
1946: Former Husker star George Sauer becomes head coach at Kansas.
1951: A Lincoln sportswriter says Nebraska should take steps to prevent coach Bill Glassford from being lured away by another school.
1956: New Nebraska coach Pete Elliott says he's setting high goals for the program. Meanwhile, all-conference Husker Rex Fischer turns down pro football offers to pursue his goal of becoming a doctor. Also, former Husker Paul Amen is named head coach at Wake Forest.
1961: With Pat Fischer graduating, the Huskers get set for a change in style at QB. Meanwhile, assisant coach Russ Faulkinberry resigns to become head coach at Southwestern Louisiana (now Louisiana Lafayette).
1966: Coach Bob Devaney gets a pay raise to $23,500.
1971: Joe Orduna, Bob Newton, Paul Rogers and Dan Schneiss are selected in the NFL draft.
1976: Lincoln's police chief ends the long-standing practice of hiring football players for summer jobs.
1981: Bob Devaney is elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.
1986: Former Husker Henry Waechter makes a tackle for a safety to cap the Chicago Bears' 46-10 Super Bowl win over New England.
1991: The late Wayne Meylan, All-America middle guard for the Huskers in the 1960s, is elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.
2006: Former Husker tight end Monte Engebritson dies at age 45 after a battle with multiple myeloma. Also, Sun Belt Conference officials respond to criticism of officiating in the 2005 Alamo Bowl game between Michigan and Nebraska.
2011: Ndamukong Suh is the only rookie named to the AP All-Pro Team.
2016: Former Tulane quarterback Tanner Lee picks Nebraska as his transfer destination. He must sit out 2016.