Lightbourn named to Ray Guy Award watch list

Categories: 2018 Football
Caleb Lightbourn
Caleb Lightbourn

Junior punter Caleb Lightbourn was named to the 2018 Ray Guy Award preseason watch list Wednesday. The award, named after College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy, is presented to the nation’s top punter.

Lightbourn, a two-year starter from Washougal, Wash., is one of 27 players on the watch list released Wednesday. As a sophomore, he averaged 42.1 yards per punt while placing 21 of his 59 punts inside the opponents’ 20-yard line. He averaged a career-best 48.0 yards per punt against No. 9 Ohio State and had a career-long 68-yard punt against No. 9 Wisconsin. In all, he averaged 2.4 yards more per punt in 2017 than as a freshman and tallied 13 punts of 50 yards or more.

The three finalists will be announced in November, with the winner being announced on the College Football Awards show on Dec. 6.

Source: Nebraska Athletics

2018 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

  • Adam Nunez, TCU
  • A.J. Cole,III, NC State
  • Alex Kinney, Colorado
  • Anthony Lotti, Wisconsin
  • Austin Seibert, Oklahoma
  • Bailey Cate, Old Dominion
  • Blake Gillikin, Penn State
  • Caleb Lightbourn, Nebraska
  • Cody Grace, Arkansas State
  • Corey Fatony, Missouri
  • Corliss Waitman, South Alabama
  • Dane Roy, Houston
  • Derek Adams, Kent State
  • Drue Chrisman, Ohio State
  • Jake Bailey, Stanford
  • Jake Hartbarger, Michigan State
  • Jamie Sackville, SMU
  • Joe Schopper, Purdue
  • Logan Tyler, Florida State
  • Matt Bonadies, Middle Tennessee
  • Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah
  • Oscar Bradburn, Virginia Tech
  • Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech
  • Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State
  • Stefan Flintoft, UCLA
  • Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse
  • Wade Lees, Maryland