Frank Solich named 2019 AFCA President

Category: Football

SAN ANTONIO, TEX. — Press Release: Ohio University head coach Frank Solich will lead the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) in 2019 as president of the organization. Solich, who moves up from first vice-president, succeeds outgoing president Bill Cronin of Georgetown (Ky.) College. Solich was elected president by members attending the Association’s 2019 convention this week in San Antonio, Texas.

“It’s an honor to be President of the American Football Coaches Association,” Solich said. “We will strive as a group of coaches to continue to work for the betterment of our student-athletes and the great game of football.”

Embed from Getty Images

In addition to Solich, the 2019 AFCA officers include first vice-president Gary Patterson of TCU, second vice-president Pat Fitzgerald of Northwestern University and third vice-president Craig Bohl of the University of Wyoming.

Also serving on the Board in 2019: Bronco Mendenhall, University of Virginia; Todd Knight, Ouachita Baptist University; David Cutcliffe, Duke University; Jeff McMartin, Central College (Iowa); Blake Anderson, Arkansas State University; Dan Mullen, University of Florida; Danny Rocco, University of Delaware; Ken Niumatalolo, U.S. Naval Academy; Paul Winters, Wayne State University (Mich.); David Shaw, Stanford University; Seth Littrell, University of North Texas; Danny Pearman, Clemson University, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee; Van Malone, Kansas State University, ex officio member and chairman of the Minority Issues Committee; Michael Christensen, Lakewood (Calif.) High School, ex officio member and chairman of the High School Committee; and Mark McElroy, Saddleback College (Calif.), ex officio member and Junior College representative. Jim Catanzaro from Lake Forest College, Steve Ryan from Morningside College and Bobby Hauck from the University of Montana are newly elected members of the Board this year, serving as Division III, NAIA and FCS representatives, respectively. AFCA Executive Director Todd Berry serves as secretary-treasurer of the organization.

Solich completed his 14th season as head coach at Ohio, leading the Bobcats to a 9-4 record, a second place finish in the Mid-American Conference (MAC) East Division and a victory in the Frisco Bowl in 2018. He has a record of 106-75 at Ohio and an overall record of 164-94 in his 20 years as head coach at Ohio and Nebraska.

Solich has guided Ohio to 10 bowl games with four victories, including two in a row with their Bahamas Bowl win in 2017. After a rebuilding year in 2005, Solich led the Bobcats to the program’s first-ever MAC East Division title and the program’s first bowl game since 1968. He was named MAC Coach of the Year for his efforts that season. In 2011, Solich guided Ohio to its first-ever bowl win, defeating Utah State, 24-23, in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl and finished the season with 10 wins, the most for the program since 1968.

Solich arrived at Ohio after six seasons as the head coach at Nebraska from 1998 to 2003. Solich spent nearly 30 years as part of the Nebraska program as a player, assistant coach and head coach. A Big 12 Coach of the Year winner in 1999 and 2001, Solich produced nine-win seasons in five of his six years as head coach of the Huskers. In 1999, 2000 and 2001, he generated 12, 10 and 11 win seasons, respectively. He also generated six-consecutive bowl appearances including a 2001 run at the national championship against Miami (Fla.) in the Rose Bowl.

Solich was named to the AFCA Board of Trustees in 2008. He was inducted into the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame in 1992.

For more information on the AFCA and its programs, visit, or follow us on Twitter @WeAreAFCA.